2012 Massachusetts Middle School Track Championships

The future stars of class of 2016 made their debut on the state-level stage at the 2012 Massachusett Middle School Track Championships at the University of Massachusetts Lowell on June 9th. With the weather significantly improved over the 1st annual meet last year, records were broken in 22 of the 28 events. Athletes were limited to two event entries. There were many noteworthy performances summarized in the state champion table below.

On the girls side, Melissa Solomon of Diamond Middle School (Lexington) won the 200m and 400m dash in 26.59 and 1:01.04. Calene Lazare of Oak Hill Middle School (Newton) blazed a 12.96 100m (good for ~top 50 in Mass at high school level). Sophie Antonioli of RJ Grey JHS (Acton-Boxborough) won the 800m in 2:23.31 (top 60 in Mass HS) and was part of RJ Grey’s 4x400m relay. The team of Kristina Maclure, Courtney Aylaian,Tatiana Jarostchuk, and Anna Traverse from Hale MS (Stow) ran 52.27 in the 4x100m, which would put it in the top 10% of high school relay teams in Massachusetts.

On the boys side, brothers Matthew and Thomas D’Anieri of Wellesley Mille School dominated the distance races winning in 2:13.86 and 4:47.4 respectively. David Cusack of MontainView MS (Wachusett) ran 24.61 to win the 200m while Mandela Franciscon of RJ Grey won the 400m in 54.61. Philip Batler (The Rashi School, Newton) bested his nearest competitor in the 100m hurdles by almost 2 seconds with a time of 15.39. Day middle school (Newton) won the 4x100m in 49.26 (video), besting the field by 1.25 while Jonas Clarke (Lexington) put together a sub 4 (3:56.36) 4x400m relay, besting runner up RJ Grey by 7 seconds.

Photos have been uploaded to the galleries. Note that these are the original high resolution 18mp shots that can cropped down significantly to isolate your athlete. Prints of various sizes and electronic downloads are available. Meet Results are available at newsportstiming.com. See meet information link for entry and other meet-related information.

STATE CHAMPIONS (# indicates meet record, event photo galleries are linked to event names):


100 Meter Dash Calene Lazare Oak Hill MS 12.96#
100 Meter Hurdles Dierdre Kennedy The Bromfield Sc 16.65#
200 Meter Dash Melissa Solomon Diamond MS 26.59#
400 Meter Dash Melissa Solomon Diamond MS 1:01.04#
800 Meter Run Sophie Antonioli RJ Grey Jhs 2:23.31#
1 Mile Run Rebecca Grusby Oak Hill MS 5:20.06#
Discus Throw Rachel Spencer Briscoe MS 71-05
High Jump Jenna Light Sutton MS 4-10.00#
Javelin Turbo Mae Nelson Littleton MS 77-08
Long Jump Kristina Maclure Hale MS 15-08.50#
Shot Mahatma Amen-Ra Oak Hill MS 31-00.00
4×100 Kristina Maclure, Courtney Aylaian,Tatiana Jarostchuk,Anna Traverse Hale MS 52.27#
4×400 Sophie Antonioli, Suzanne Cotter, Adrienne Mielke, Emily Alex RJ Grey Jhs 4:23.03#
4×800 Virginia Breunig,Alyssa Mazur, Eleanor Silver,Katie Melsky Diamond MS 10:42.20#


100 Meter Dash Luc Booz Whitinsville Chr 12.40
100 Meter Hurdles Philip Batler The Rashi Sch 15.38#
200 Meter Dash David Cusack Mountview MS 24.61#
400 Meter Dash Mandela Franciscon RJ Grey Jhs 54.81#
800 Meter Run Matthew D’Anieri Wellesley MS 2:13.86
1 Mile Run Thomas D’Anieri Wellesley MS 4:47.41#
Discus Throw Jack Mellish Overlook MS 118-10
High Jump Thomas O’Donoghue Jonas Clarke 5-04.00#
High Jump William Gallagher Silver Lake Reg 5-04.00#
Javelin Throw Turbo James Bruce Diamond MS 132-05#
Long Jump Jared Prior FA Day MS 19-02.00#
Shot Put Peter Baird Thomas Prince 37-05.75
4×100 Matt Wood,Nathaniel Roldan, Max Hernandez, Jared Prior FA Day MS 49.27#
4×400 Anthony Aguirre, Chris Albino, Bobby Mackenzie, Omari McDavid-Alfred Jonas Clarke MS 3:56.36#
4×800 William Rhatigan, Daniel Morris, Andy Theall, Anthony DeNitto Oak Hill MS 9:28.99#


Some of the overall winners (apologies to the many we missed):
100m Champion Calene Lazare

200m and 400m Champion Melissa Solomon

800m Champion Sophie Antonioli

100m Champion Luc Booz

100m Hurdle Champion Philip Batler

200m Champion David Cusack

400m Champion Mandela Franciscon

800m Champion Matthew D’Anieri

Mile Champion Thomas D’Anieri

Long Jump Champion Jared Prior

4x100m Champions: Nathaniel Roldan, Max Hernandez, Matt Wood, and Jared Prior – Day Middle School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *